Webinar - Using STREET THEATRE to fight Gender-Based Violence (GBV)

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar – Using STREET THEATRE to fight Gender-Based Violence (GBV)

November 28 @ 7:00 am - 8:00 am

Street theatre is a powerful medium to raise awareness about social issues. Worldwide, it is recognized as an effective means to bring practical information to isolated communities. In low-income urban areas, this is a popular and accessible form of entertainment. Cleverly scripted plays, along with slogans, singing and dancing, allow important social messages to be transmitted. The idea is to portray real stories, for example, relating to women’s safety and empowerment, by scripting them in the form of accessible street theatre, and performing the piece in spaces and places that need this most (Jodhani, 2014).

Join us for a discussion on the process leading to a street theatre performance. Our guest speaker Ms. Anbreen Ajaib’s experience in this domain, will help us understand the process as it starts with the idea, the scripting, directing and finally the production of a street theatre performance. After the presentation, there will be time for Q&A.

 

Date and Time:

Thursday November 28, 2019

Dhaka: 21:00

Islamabad: 20:00

Kandy: 20:30

Mumbai: 20:30

Vancouver: 07:00

 

Registration:

To register, email apuentepol@col.org. Seats are limited and filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Once confirmed, you will receive the joining instructions to the webinar by email. We look forward to seeing you at the webinar!

Details

Date:
November 28
Time:
7:00 am - 8:00 am
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , ,