Webinar: Our work towards the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Our work towards the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

September 28, 2016

In September 2015, the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development was adopted at the UN Sustainable Development Summit.  The 17 goals aspire to transform our world to end poverty and “seek to realize the human rights of all and to achieve gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls. They are integrated and indivisible and balance the three dimensions of sustainable development: the economic, social and environmental” (SDSN, 2016).

To mark the first year of the adoption of the SDGs, we’d like to invite you to join Dr. K. Balasubramanian, Vice President, Commonwealth of Learning (COL), on a Webinar on Sustainable Development to address the following:

  • What is Sustainable Development?
  • How does our work in COL align with it?
  • Which Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are relevant for our work in GIRLS Inspire?
  • How can your organisation make a contribution to achieving the relevant SDGs?

The Webinar will take about one hour. Participants will have the the opportunity to ask questions during the webinar using the chat box. Alternatively, you can send your questions to Ms. Jasmine Lee at jlee@col.org before the Webinar. All such questions will be transferred to the moderator in advance of the meeting. After the presentation, the floor will be open for Q&A.

The participants should leave the Webinar more informed on Sustainable Development and the SDGs.

We look forward to seeing you there!

 

Registration:

Email Ms. Jasmine Lee at jlee@col.org to confirm your participation. Seats are limited and will be filled on a first come-first served basis. Participants will receive an email confirmation with the joining instructions.

 

Date and time:

Wednesday, 28 September 2016

  • 7:45 AM Vancouver
  • 4:45 PM Mozambique
  • 5:45 PM  Tanzania
  • 7:45 PM Pakistan
  • 8:15 PM India
  • 8:45 PM Bangladesh

 

Photo credit: Garments vocational skills training for #GIRLSInspire project hosted by the Centre for Mass Education in Science – Nayadiary Unit.

Details

Date:
September 28, 2016
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,

Organiser

Commonwealth of Learning