Webinar: Child, early and forced marriage

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Child, early and forced marriage

July 28, 2016

The consequences of child marriage for girls and societies are serious, wide-ranging and compel a variety of sectors to take action: child marriage denies a girl her childhood, disrupts her education, limits her opportunities, exposes her to the risk of pregnancy and complications from childbirth, and increases her risk of contracting STIs, including HIV, as well as her risk of being a victim of violence and abuse.”

-UNICEF, 2014

Join the GIRLS Inspire team as we welcome Ms. Heather Hamilton, Interim Executive Director, Girls Not Brides as a guest speaker to:

  • discuss the issue of child, early and forced marriage (CEFM); and
  • share information on recent international developments that have an impact on CEFM.

After the presentation, the floor will be open for Q&A.

Participants should leave the webinar more informed on preventing CEFM.



Email Ms. Jasmine Lee at jlee@col.org to confirm your participation. Seats are limited. You will then receive an email confirmation with the joining instructions.


Date and time:

Thursday, 28 July 2016

8:00 AM Vancouver, Canada

9:00 PM Dhaka, Bangladesh

8:30 PM Maharashtra, India

8:00 PM Islamabad, Pakistan

5:00 PM Maputo, Mozambique

6:00 PM Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

4:00 PM London, UK


Photo credit: Mann Deshi Foundation


July 28, 2016
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , ,